Valley Hi Nursing Home, McHenry County's long-term skilled nursing facility, has amassed a fund surplus of about $40 million, or enough to cover more than three years of operations. After months of discussion, the McHenry County Board voted April 16, 2019, to rebate $15 million of it back to homeowners who take the homestead exemption.The Illinois Fiscal Responsibility Act provides the process by which surplus funds can be rebated. The Valley Hi rebate program follows this law.
Click on the tabs below for the answers to commonly asked questions.
There are two options for applying for your rebate:
- Submit your application online (the link will be available June 1, 2019).
- Visit the McHenry County Treasurer's office to pick up an application (the form will be available June 3, 2019). The office is located at 2100 N. Seminary Ave. (the corner of Route 47 and Russel Court) in Woodstock, Illinois.
Taxpayers will qualify for the rebate based on three criteria. If you can answer "yes" to these three questions, then you likely qualify.
1. Did you own a residential property in McHenry County on April 16, 2019?
2. Was this property owner-occupied with a homestead exemption on April 16, 2019?
You can find this information using the Treasurer's Property Tax Inquiry tool. Once you have completed the search and found your property, scroll down to the Exemptions section and verify that there is an Exemption Type: Owner Occupied in the list. See the example below for reference.
3. Were the 2017 property taxes (payable in 2018) paid in full?
If you did not own the property during the 2017 tax period and are unsure of the tax history, you can find this information using the Treasurer's Property Tax Inquiry tool. Once you have completed the search and found your property, scroll down to the Payment History section and verify that the Amount Unpaid for Tax Year 2017 is $0.00.
If the 2017 property taxes were sold at a tax sale, then the property would not qualify, even if redeemed at a later date.
To be eligible for the rebate, you need to have owned and occupied taxable homestead exemption residential property on April 16, 2019 for which the 2017 property taxes have been paid in full by you or on your behalf. So, whichever home you owned and occupied on that date may qualify if you meet the other eligibility requirements.
To be eligible for the rebate, you need to have owned and occupied taxable homestead exemption residential property on April 16, 2019 for which the 2017 property taxes have been paid in full by you or on your behalf. If you sold your home before that date, you would not be eligible. If you sold your home after that date, you may qualify if you meet the other eligibility requirements.
If your property did not have the homestead exemption as of April 16, 2019, then, unfortunately, you are not eligible for the rebate. However, you may want to contact your township assessor to apply for a homestead exemption if you meet the requirements. This may change your eligibility for the Valley Hi rebate. If your application is initially denied because you did not have the homestead exemption but you are able to get it applied retroactively to January 1, 2019, then you can appeal the rebate denial within 30 days with this new status and that should change your eligibility.
Please note that if you claim a homestead exemption for another property either in Illinois or in another state, you would not be eligible for the homestead exemption on this property. Please contact your township assessor to inquire.
The rebate calculation is based on the following mathematical formula:
|Your 2017 property taxes paid to McHenry County||x||$15 million
||=||Your rebate amount|
$50,543,619 is the county's total yield from all 2017 taxable homestead properties; and
$15 million is the total amount from Valley Hi being rebated.
Property taxes paid to McHenry County can be found by using the Treasurer's Property Tax Inquiry tool. Once you have completed the search and found your property, make sure you change the Tax Year to 2017 in the Property Information section. See the example below as a reference.
Then scroll down to the Taxing Bodies section and look for MCHENRY COUNTY in the list. The corresponding figure in the Extension column is your 2017 property tax paid to McHenry County.
See the example below as a reference.
Don't feel like doing the math?
You can use the tool below to help estimate your rebate. Enter the figure from the Taxing Bodies section (Row: MCHENRY COUNTY; Column: Extension). Then click the "calculate my rebate" button.
No. The $15 million rebate approved by the County Board leaves Valley Hi with a $25 million surplus, which is enough to cover two years of operations. The approved reduction was vetted by Valley Hi administration, County administration, and an outside health care firm.
In fact, the County Board is looking into expanding Valley Hi's services.