McHenry County Department of Health - Animal Control
Translate this page:

Veterinary Public Health Division

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Print
100 North Virginia Street
Crystal Lake, IL 60014
get directionsget directions
(815) 459-6222
mcac@McHenryCountyIL.gov

Business Hours
M,T,TH,F: 8:00-4:30
W:8:00-6:30
Sat:8:00-2:30
Sunday-Closed

Adoption Hours
M,T,TH,F: 10:30-4:30
W:10:30-6:30
Sat:10:00-2:30
Sunday-Closed


INTERESTED IN ADOPTING?

Adoption Application

See Our Adoptable Pets on Facebook

See Our Adoptable Pets on Petharbor.com

Cruelty Investigations Policy 

How cold is too cold?

cold temps 2


heart-pawRabies Vaccine & Microchip Clinicsheart-paw

Wednesday, October 2nd  4:00PM - 6:00PM
Thursday, October 3rd  2:00PM - 4:00PM
Thursday, November 7th  2:00PM - 4:00PM

Rabies Vaccine -  1-year: $15, 3-year: $30
Microchips - $15

By Appointment only at 815-459-6222  View the Event Flyer for More Info

Rabies Vaccination Registration Fees

Registration fees are not refundable for any reason.

Animal Status 1 Year Registration 3 Year Registration
Spayed/Neutered $15.00 $35.00
NOT Spayed/Neutered
$50.00 $125.00

Discounts:
Puppies under 6 months of age will pay the Spayed/Neutered 1 year fee
Senior citizen (age 62 and up) registration discount: $5.00 (requires proof of age)
Microchip registration discount: $5.00 (requires proof of chip number)

Replacement tags fee: $2.00
$10.00 registration late fee after 30 days from vaccination

Breeder Registration Fees

Animal Status 1 Year Registration
Registered Breeding Female Dog
$30.00

Microchip registration discount: $5.00 (requires proof of chip number)
A $40.00 annual McHenry County Breeder Certificate is required to receive the $30.00 discounted rate


 

Help our pets! Click here to see our Wish List


Check out our Adoptable Pets and adoption process here.

 

How To:

Adopt a New Pet

Find a Veterinarian

Dealing with Wildlife

Report Animal Bites

Kids and Animal Safety (Eng and Esp)

Report Animal Cruelty

Volunteer with MCAC

Learn about Rabies

Learn about Tick-borne diseases

Learn about Common Animal Illnesses

Register, Spay/Neuter, and Microchip Your Pet

Weather & Pets

Canine and Feline Body Language (in Eng and Esp)


McHenry County Animal Control and Adoption Center (MCAC) is the location of the McHenry County Department of Health Veterinary Division. MCDH Veterinary Division's  Animal Control Officers provide code enforcement of Animal Control Article of the McHenry County Public Health Ordinance. Effective animal control activities protect people and pets. Community outreach services include education on dog bite prevention, humane care for animals, and pet adoptions. MCAC houses stray animals for the county, and provides dog licensing.

 
Animal Control Officers respond to citizen complaints about violations of the Public Health Ordinance. Each year, MCDH Veterinary Division conducts thousands of investigations, ranging from minor code violations to felony animal cruelty. When possible, voluntary compliance is sought through educating owners about animal care responsibilities. If compliance is not obtained, MCDH Veterinary Division officers have the ability to issue tickets for Ordinance violations. Officers also pick up stray, sick and injured animals.

If you are aware of a situation where public health or safety is in jeopardy, or an animal is the subject of neglect or cruelty, you are urged to contact MCDH Veterinary Division at (815) 459-6222 to report what you have seen, heard, or experienced. An Animal Control Officer will be dispatched to investigate and follow up on the situation. 

 

Learn more about Canine Influenza, from the American Veterinary Medical Association. 

 

VETERINARY PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION STAFF DIRECTORY
Name Title Phone Email
Maryellen Howell Animal Control Administrator/Manager
815-334-4940 MGHowell@mchenrycountyil.gov
Kara Plonczynski  Interim Veterinary Division Assistant Manager 815-334-4946 KMPloncz@mchenrycountyil.gov
       
Dana Ackman Office Assistant II 815-334-4944 DLAckman@mchenrycountyil.gov
Officer Bieniek Animal Control Officer I 815-459-6222 AMBieniek@mchenrycountyil.gov
Cheyenne Byard Kennel Tech I 815-459-6222 CRByard@mchenrycountyil.gov
Janelle Carlson Kennel Tech I 815-459-6222 JECarlson@mchenrycountyil.gov
Officer Delfino Animal Control Officer I 815-459-6222 PXDelfino@mchenrycountyil.gov
Megan Falsetti
Office Assistant II 815-459-6222 MAFalsetti@mchenrycountyil.gov
Officer Konzak Animal Control Officer I 815-459-6222 KCKonzak@mchenrycountyil.gov
Heather Kvidera
Admin Specialist II 815-334-4945 HFKvidera@mchenrycountyil.gov 
Noel Langkan Office Assistant II 815-459-6222 NXLangkan@mchenrycountyil.gov
Renee Laramie Lead Kennel Tech 815-334-4947 RALaramie@mchenrycountyil.gov
Officer Navarro Lead Animal Control Officer 815-334-2108 OXNavarro@mchenrycountyil.gov 
Kara Plonczynski Volunteer Coord/Health Educator 815-334-4946 KMPloncz@mchenrycountyil.gov 
Officer Raz Animal Control Officer I 815-459-6222 MFRazz@mchernrycountyil.gov
Kathy Rondorf Office Assistant II 815-459-6222 KJRondorf@mchenrycountyil.gov 
Officer Strickland Animal Control Officer I 815-459-6222 AWStrickland@mchenrycountyil.gov
Margarita Villagomez Office Assistant II 815-459-6222 MXVillagomez@mchenrycountyil.gov
Officer Ward Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2105 AKWard@mchenrycountyil.gov
Office Assistant II