Recorder's Office - Joseph J. Tirio, McHenry County Recorder

Fee Schedule

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The fee for recording most instruments on standard form includes a per document charge of $12.00 recording fee, $13.00 automation charge, $15.00 Geographic Information System (GIS) charge, $9.00 surcharge for filing any real estate-related document dated on or after August 1, 2005 for the Illinois Rental Housing Support Program*(RHSP), and a $1.00 charge for any document affecting interest in real property (PA 98-0005).

*Illinois law (55 ILCS 5/3-5018) requires that the Recorder collect a Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge for the recordation of any real estate-related document unless the entity recording the document is any State agency, any unit of local government or any school district.

The McHenry County Recorder’s Office requests that if the entity recording documents believe they are exempt from the Rental Housing Support Program State surcharge, please complete the RHSP Exemption Declaration Form (located on our web site at, to accompany each document recorded.

All documents dated after July 19, 1995 that are presented for recording (other than a document filed under the Plat Act or the Uniform Commercial Code) must conform to the following standards:

  • The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring 8.5” x 11”, not permanently bound and not a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11” x 17” shall be recorded without charging an additional fee.
  • The document shall be legibly printed in black ink, by hand, type or computer. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they will reproduce clearly.
  • The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of a least one half-inch on the top, bottom, and each side. Margins may be used for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to form numbers, page numbers and customer notations.
  • The first page of the document shall contain a blank space, measuring at least 3” x 5”, from the upper-right corner. The document shall not have any attachment stapled or otherwise affixed to any page.

A document that does not conform to these standards shall not be recorded except upon payment of the additional fee required under this paragraph. This paragraph, as amended by this Amendatory Act of 1995, applies only to documents dated after the effective date of this Amendatory Act of 1995.

For non-conforming documents, in addition to the fees listed below, add: $12.00 (for the first four (4) pages) and an additional $2.00 for each additional page.

Deeds, Mortgages, Releases, Etc.   
 First four (4) pages $50.00
 Each additional page $1.00
 Documents referred to by document number without a legal $1.00
 Additional document numbers noted $1.00


  Blanket Assignments (first document number) $50.00
  Each additional assignment $7.00
  Each Assignment without Legal Description $1.00 


Judgments, Corporation Documents, Releases/Satisfactions, Etc.
(Documents not related to property)

First four (4) pages $40.00 
Each additional page  $1.00 


State/Federal Liens & Other Miscellaneous Filings $11.00

Examples include but are not limited to: Federal/State Tax Liens, Renewals, Releases, Deeds, Easements, Right-of-Ways, Dedications, Dissolutions, Oil, Gas & Mineral Assignments, Etc.

Each additional page  $1.00 
Each additional name after one  $1.00 


Plats, Condominiums & Surveys   
Plat of Subdivision  (Max. 24" x 36")  $88.00 
Declaration of Condominium (First four (4) pages)  $50.00 
Each additional page  $1.00 

Plat attached to Declaration of Condominium  (First page)  (Max. 24" x 36") 

Each additional page  $1.00 
Recorder's Office Required Copies:
Three (3) Copies for Subdivision Plats $2.00 per pg.
Three (3) Copies for Condominium Plats  $2.00 per pg. 
All other Copies  $4.00 per pg. 
Miscellaneous Plats (Max. 24" x 36") $57.00 
Examples include but are not limited to: Easements, Dedications, Vacations, Highway Strip Maps, etc.   
Each additional page  $19.00 

If any exhibit attached to a standard document is larger than 11" x 17"      (Max. 24" x 36")

This is an additional fee added to the standard pricing of a document.



Uniform Commercial Code Recording   
UCC Filing  $48.00 
Termination  $28.00 
UCC Search   
Search fee per name  $10.00 
UCC Copies $1.00 per pg. 


Military Discharge Records (DD-214) and first two Certified Copies No Charge 
Each additional certified copy  $1.00 


Copy Department  
For copy requests, contact us at 815-334-4128.  
MasterCard or Visa Credit Cards accepted for PHONE ORDERS ONLY.   
First page up to 8 1/2 x 14  $1.50 
Additional pages per document   $0.50 

Copy of Map, Plat of Subdivision, Condominium Plat, or records larger than 8 1/2 x 14

$4.00 per pg. 
Certified Copies  
Certified copies (up to four (4) pages)  $12.00 
Additional pages per document  $1.00 
Certified State or Federal Tax Lien or Release  $5.00 
Certified copy of Map, Plat of Subdivision or Condominium Plat  $10.00 

Copies may be picked-up in our office or returned via Mail, Fax or E-Mail.

E-Mail requests are processed at 9:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m. and 3:00 p.m. All e-mail requests after

3:00 p.m. will be sent the next business day.



Standard size up to 8 1/2 x 14   (First 20 pages)  $5.00 
Each additional page   (Over 20 pages)  $0.50 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer