All county offices will be closed on Friday, July 3rd, in observance of Independence Day.

County Board - Jack D. Franks, County Board Chairman

Paula Yensen

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Paula YensenDistrict 5

971 Brittany Bend
Lake in the Hills, IL 60156
[email protected]

Current Term Ends: Dec. 2020

McHenry County Resident Since 1995

Dr. Paula Yensen was first elected to the Lake in the Hills Village Board in 2001, and served two terms before being elected to the McHenry County Board. She serves as Chair of the Senior Services Grant Commission,Vice Chair of McHenry County's Public Health and Community Services Committee, Liaison to the McHenry County Mental Health Board and member of the Planning and Environment Committee.

In 1994 Dr. Yensen earned a Ph.D. in Education, with minors in Urban Affairs Programs and Family and Child Science from Michigan State University. Her graduate studies included in-depth research in affordable housing, employment issues, non-traditional learning, and urban planning. Her Ph.D. dissertation was focused on adult learning behavior at a shelter for battered women in Hamilton, Ohio.

While in Michigan, she served on the Ingham County Women's Commission and was one of the founders of the Lansing Fair Housing Board. Dr. Yensen also founded the Economic Justice Task Force. In 2013, Dr. Yensen received the Thomas Jefferson Lifetime Achievement award from the Democratic Party of McHenry County for her many years of public service.

Dr. Yensen served as Executive Director of United Way of Central Kane County and was an adjunct faculty member at Harper College, where she taught grant writing, board development, women in leadership, and fundraising.

Currently, she is President of the Board of Directors of Fox Valley Philanthropy Network and a member of the Lake in the Hills Rotary Club. She is a past Board Member for the Grafton Food Pantry and the Environmental Defenders of McHenry County. Dr. Yensen is married to Michael Bissett and has two children, Jamie and Jason.