Where to Appeal My Case
Cases from the 22nd Judicial Circuit - McHenry County are appealed to the 2nd District Appellate Court located in Elgin. A Notice of Appeal must be filed with the Circuit Clerk within 30 days of the entry of the judgment or order from which you are appealing.
There is a filing fee of $50.00 due at the time of filing the Notice of Appeal. Should the cost exceed the $50.00, you will be advised of the additional charges. The additional costs are based on the amount of pages in the case record. If the appeal is under 100 pages, there will not be any additional cost. If the appeal is 100 - 200 pages the additional cost will be $50.00 and if the appeal is over 200 pages the additional cost will be $50.00 plus $.25 per page. 705 ILCS 105/27.1a(k)
Any transcripts ordered and received by you must be filed with the McHenry County Circuit Clerk for inclusion in the record on appeal, as are any exhibits that were submitted at the time of hearing or trial.
If there are no additional charges, the record will be electronically filed with the Appellate Court. In the event of additional costs, it will be forwarded upon receipt of payment of said costs.
The docketing statement should be completed and forwarded to the Appellate Court along with a $50.00 check made payable to Clerk of the Appellate Court. The docketing statement is due in the Appellate Court (address below) within 14 days of filing the Notice of Appeal with the Circuit Clerk.
Office of the Clerk
2nd District Appellate Court
55 Symphony Way
Elgin, IL 60120
Once your docketing statement is received at the Appellate Court, you will receive a briefing schedule of all the due dates for the record on appeal. Be advised that your failure to comply with any of the above instructions will result in the dismissal of your appeal by the Appellate Court.
- Guide for Appeals to the Illinois Appellate Court for Self-Represented Litigants
- Rules of the Illinois Appellate Court - 2nd District [PDF]
Note: The Circuit Clerk's Office CANNOT assist you with filling out the Appeal forms. By law, the Circuit Clerk's Office is prohibited from giving legal advice.
Approved Statewide Appeal Forms
McHenry County Appeal Forms:
- Civil Notice of Appeal
- Civil Docketing Statement
- Criminal Notice of Appeal
- Criminal Docketing Statement