Where to Apply - Must Be In Person
Office of McHenry County Clerk
McHenry County Administration Building
667 Ware Road, Room 107
Woodstock, IL 60098
Both parties must appear in person in the County Clerk’s office between the hours of 8:00 AM and 4:00 PM Monday through Friday.
Persons Who May Not Marry
Blood relatives through cousins of the first degree may not marry under the laws of the State of Illinois.
The fee for a marriage license in McHenry County is thirty dollars ($30.00).
For marriage license information, please visit the County Clerk website.Qualifications - Residents Of The State Of Illinois
Both parties must be 18 years of age at the time the marriage license is effective. Parties 16 years of age must have the consent of both parents, the legal guardian(s) or judicial approval to marry.
Proof of Age
Applicants who are 18 years of age and under must present their birth certificate as proof of age.
Photo ID is required for both parties.
Qualifications - Non Residents
Non-residents must comply with the requirements of their respective states. Non-residents requiring consent of parents or legal guardian(s) must obtain a consent sworn to before the County Clerk or a Notary Public.
Persons obtaining a license in McHenry County may NOT use the license to marry in any other county. A license to marry becomes effective in the county where it was issued one (1) day after the date of issuance, unless the court orders that the license is effective when issued, and expires sixty (60) days after it becomes effective. If there was a prior marriage for one or both applicants, ending in divorce, the parties must provide the County Clerk with a certified copy of the Final Judgment of Dissolution that has been signed and dated by the Judge.
Where To Schedule An Appointment
Court Administration Office
McHenry County Government Center
2200 North Seminary Ave, Room 355
Woodstock, IL 60098
Marriages Are Performed On:
Monday through Friday at 11:00AM, 1:00PM, or 3:00PM
Saturday at 8:30AM only (An appointment must be made during the week.)
Saturday weddings are the 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month
There is a limit of 8 ceremonies on Saturdays
Monday through Friday from 8:00AM to 4:30PM
Prior appointments are required
In order to schedule a wedding appointment, you must present a marriage license & pay a fee of ten dollars ($10.00) Cash Only
NO rings required - NO witnesses requiredThe ceremony will be performed in English. It is required that both parties completely understand the meaning of the words in order to knowingly and freely enter into the marriage contract. If either party requires an interpreter, it is the responsibility of the parties to provide one 18 years of age or older. The wedding couple may not interpret for each other.
If you have further questions regarding wedding information, please call Court Administration at 815.334.4385
Please be aware that if anyone calls inquiring about a scheduled wedding date and time, that information will be provided to the caller.