County Government

Contact Us - Elected Officials & Department Heads

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Normal Business hours are from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm - Monday - Friday

McHenry County Government Center
2200 North Seminary Ave.
Woodstock IL 60098

(815) 334-4000

Webmaster: [email protected]

Sandquist, Dennis

As the Director of Planning and Development, Dennis Sandquist, AICP, is responsible for the County’s overall planning, zoning, water resources management, construction permitting, and community development functions. He oversees the Department’s enforcement of the county’s unified development and stormwater management ordinances and building codes in unincorporated McHenry County. He also manages the Department’s administration of approximately $3.0 million in annual Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), Home Investment Partnership (HOME), and Senior Service Grant (SSG) funds.  

Prior to joining McHenry County in 2008, Dennis spent 10 years with Lake County, Illinois, as Deputy Director of Planning, Building, and Development. Dennis has additional planning and GIS experience in Kansas, New York, and New Jersey.  

Dennis serves his community as the Chairman of the City of Woodstock Old Courthouse and Sheriff House Advisory Commission. He is a past President of the National Association of County Planners and is a founding member and a past Chairman of the American Planning Association’s County Planning Division. He is also a former member of the Board of Directors of the National Association of Counties.  

Dennis has a B.S. in Geography and a Certificate In Environmental Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a Master of City and Regional Planning degree from Rutgers University.

Planning & Development

Return to full list >>